Dan Matthews

English & French tutor

Based in
Manchester, United Kingdom
Also teaches in Alderley Edge, Bolton, Cheshire, Huddersfield, knutsford, Liverpool, Macclesfield, Manchester, Sale, Stockport, Wigan, wilmslow

Rates: £25 an hour


Make an enquiry

Personal Message

I am an experienced teacher of English, French, German, Italian and EFL.

1. Which subject(s) do you teach?

I teach English as a Foreign Language (EFL) at all levels, Business English, IELTS, French and Italian from beginner to GCSE and 'A'-level/undergraduate level. I teach German to GCSE.

2. Tell me about your qualifications.

I have a BA (Hons) Degree in Modern Languages
I have a Postgraduate Certificate in Secondary Education and a Certificate in Teaching English as a Foreign Language.
Certificate in Teaching English to Speakers of Other Languages (TESOL)

3. What kind of experience do you have?

I have about 12 years' experience teaching adults and young people both in the UK and abroad.
I have taught in schools, colleges, private language schools, in company and privately.

4. How much do you charge?

I charge £25 an hour for all subjects. I also charge travelling expenses where necessary.
I am happy to travel outside Manchester for sessions of 90 minutes or more.

5. Where do you teach?

Most lessons take place at my home or the student's home around Manchester and Didsbury.
Some lessons take place at a suitable Manchester city centre location.
I travel to Sale, Stockport, Bolton, Wilmslow, Alderley Edge, Knutsford, Cheshire, Macclesfield, Liverpool, Huddersfield, Wigan

6. When are you available?

Mostly afternoons/evenings during the week. Saturday and Sunday afternoons if required.
I am also available some mornings from 9am.

7. Which ages and levels do you teach?

11+

8. Which qualifications do you prepare your students for?

GCSE
A-Level
IELTS
Cambridge First, Advanced and Proficiency
TOEIC & TOEFL

9. Do you have an up-to-date CRB (Criminal Records Bureau) disclosure certificate?

Yes

10. Describe your arrangements for online tutoring.

I give English, French & Italian lessons via Skype or via email.

11. Do you belong to any professional organisations?

EDEXCEL

12. Where and with whom did you train?

The University of Leicester

13. Tell me about some of your current students.

I have a wide range of students of English, French, German and Italian, many of whom have been with me for years.
Those studying for GCSEs and A-levels have achieved excellent grades and have been able to go to the university of their choice.
I have helped many of my IELTS students to achieve a score of 6.5 or 7

14. Do you have a personal message for students?

I am an expert teacher in Modern Foreign Languages & EFL. If you need to pass that exam or are just learning a language for fun, you can be sure of good quality tuition and a good time with a dynamic, charismatic teacher.

Services

Aimed at: Beginner, Intermediate and Advanced.
Online teaching offered

THE SMALL PRINT

In the interest of both tutor and student, I expect my students to honour appointments once they have been arranged and the vast majority of my students do so. I prefer cancellations to be kept to an absolute minimum. If a lesson has to be cancelled, I will encourage the lesson to be rearranged later that week. It is very rare that another suitable slot cannot be found.

If the lesson has to be cancelled and it cannot be re-arranged, I encourage my students to cancel by text message or telephone no later than 6pm the day before the lesson is scheduled. If a lesson is cancelled on the day of the lesson on more than two occasions without a very good reason, I do not continue to teach that particular student.

As a tutor, I very rarely have to cancel or re-schedule an appointment but if I do, I offer the next lesson at half price as a gesture of goodwill.


Last login: 6 years 33 weeks ago


3
3
1 rating

Don't be shy, say hello. We'd love to hear from you.


[email protected]

Stay safe

School of Everything is all about meeting up in the real world. Here are some tips on how to arrange your learning and teaching safely.